New Chairman and Cabinet roles for Members at NHDC

PR Date: 
Friday, 19 May 2017 - 3:15pm

A new Chairman and Vice-Chairman of North Hertfordshire District Council (NHDC) were announced at a meeting of full Council last night (18 May). Cllr Alan Millard takes the role of Chairman, replacing former Cllr John Booth, and Cllr John Bishop succeeds in his role as Vice-Chairman.

Cllr Alan Millard will hold the position for the next 12 months. This year, NHDC's new Chairman has nominated Hitchin Helping Hands and Snappy Gs as the charities he will support during his tenure.

Hitchin Helping Hands is a Charity based in Hitchin that provides transport for the disabled and elderly in North Herts as and when required and also provides a regular social Club.

Snappy G’s is a Charity for young people aged between 13 and 24 with special needs, which runs in Hitchin on Monday nights having activities which includes arts, crafts, dance, video filming.

Cllr Millard said: "I am delighted to represent North Hertfordshire District Council as Chairman. I would like to thank former Cllr John Booth for his hard work during his year in office and offer my congratulations for raising £2,160 for his chosen charities.

"It’s a great honour to be elected as Chairman especially having been involved over many years photographing Chairman of Councils, Mayors and many council events, not realising one day I would become one of them, also having been involved with the whole spectrum of society for over 45 years, I will be able to contribute my experience to this office".

Changes to NHDC’s Cabinet were also agreed at last night’s meeting. Cllr Julian Cunningham replaces Cllr Terry Hone as Executive Member for Finance and IT and Deputy Leader of the Council. Cllr Ray Shakespeare-Smith replaces Cllr Julian Cunningham as Executive Member for Policy, Transport and Green Issues, and Cllr Michael Weeks takes the role of Executive Member for Waste Management, Recycling and Environment.

There were also new Area Committee Chairmen appointments. Cllr Michael Muir takes over as Chairman of the Baldock and District Committee, Cllr Nicola Harris as Chairman of the Hitchin Committee and Cllr Tony Hunter as Chairman of the Royston and District Committee.

Cllr Cathryn Henry remains as Chairman of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee, and Cllr Steve Hemingway remains as Vice-Chairman.


Area Committee Chairmen 2017/18:

Baldock and District Committee Chairman Cllr Michael Muir , Vice Chairman Cllr Janine Paterson

Hitchin Committee Chairman, Cllr Nicola Harris, Vice Chairman Cllr Ian Albert

Letchworth Area Committee Chairman Cllr Mike Rice, Vice Chairman Cllr Paul Marment

Royston Area Committee Chairman Tony Hunter, Vice Chairman Cllr Bill Davidson

Southern Rural Committee Chairman Cllr David Barnard, Vice Chairman Cllr Cathryn Henry

Committee Chairmen and Vice Chairmen for 2017/2018

Overview & Scrutiny Committee Chairman Cllr Cathryn Henry, Vice Chairman Cllr Steve Hemingway

Finance, Audit & Risk Committee Chairman Cllr Terry Hone , Vice Chairman Cllr Simon Harwood

Licensing & Appeals Committee Chairman Councillor Michael Muir

Joint Staff Consultative Committee Chairman Councillor Fiona Hill

Planning Control Committee Chairman Councillor David Barnard, Vice Chairman Cllr Fiona Hill

Council Tax Setting Committee Chairman Councillor Julian Cunningham

Standards Committee Chairman Councillor Mike Rice, Vice Chairman Councillor Steve Hemingway

Town Lodge